Best bedtime story apps for kids: six options compared
The best story app depends on what you want: a voice that tells the story, a text to read together or a tale built around your child. This page compares six services US and UK parents come across, Lulio included, on five criteria: audio or text, personalization, continuity from one evening to the next, price and device.
The five criteria
Format comes first: audio narration the child listens to, or a text an adult reads aloud. Then personalization, such as the child's name or interests, and continuity, meaning a story that picks up from the night before rather than stand-alone stories. The last two are the entry price, with what it covers, and the device. All of these run on a phone, tablet or browser.
The information comes from each service's official site or App Store listing (US store). When a point isn't stated there, we write "not disclosed" rather than guess. Prices change often and can differ by country, so check the store before you subscribe.
Apps that read the story for you
Moshi offers sleep stories, meditations, sounds and music, more than 400 tracks in all, for $9.99 a month or $49.99 a year in the US after a 7-day free trial. Calm includes Sleep Stories for kids, some with characters like Peppa Pig and Winnie the Pooh, in Calm Premium, listed at $79.99 a year after a 7-day trial on Calm's US plans page.
Epic is a digital library for children 12 and under, with more than 40,000 books, audiobooks and videos, including Read-To-Me books. Its plans page doesn't show a price; the US App Store lists several monthly plans between $7.99 and $13.99. Audible ($8.99 a month for Standard in the US, £5.99 in the UK) is not a children's app, but its kids' audiobooks are an option for longer stories.
Apps that personalize the story
Oscar Stories uses AI to write a story where your child is the hero, with characters and professions you pick. You can read it, turn it into an AI-voiced audiobook or watch a video version.
The US App Store lists Premium at $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year, and coin packs for creating stories. The listing doesn't say whether one story continues the next night.
An app where you do the reading
Readmio is the closest to Lulio: you read the story aloud, and the app listens on the device and adds sounds and music at the right words. It has more than 500 stories and a few free ones to try.
The US App Store lists subscriptions including $5.99 a month and $39.99 a year. Readmio's site doesn't mention putting your child's name in the story.
Where Lulio fits
Lulio has no audio narration: the text is written to be read aloud by a parent, in 5, 10 or 15 minutes, and your child has no screen to watch. Each evening brings a new episode of a 3 to 7 episode saga starring your child as the hero, where siblings, pets and comfort toys can play a part. A child who has to fall asleep without an adult is better served by an app with audio narration.
Lulio costs €12.99 a month with VAT included, or €19.99 for the Family plan, billed in euros. That is more than Moshi, Readmio or Oscar Stories. The first episode is free, no credit card needed, and you can cancel at any time. Lulio is a website, with a free Android app that sends a notification when the episode is ready; on iPhone, it runs in the browser.
How to choose
If your child needs to listen without you, pick Moshi, Calm or an audiobook service, and use the free trial first. If you want to read together, Readmio adds sound to stories from its library, and Lulio writes a saga around your child with characters who come back. Either way, check the billing period of the price before you subscribe.
| Criterion | Lulio | Moshi | Calm | Readmio | Oscar Stories | Epic |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | first episode free, then €12.99 a month (€19.99 Family plan) | 7-day free trial, then $9.99 a month or $49.99 a year | 7-day free trial, then $79.99 a year (Calm Premium) | a few free stories; App Store lists $5.99 a month and $39.99 a year | free download; App Store lists $4.99 a month, $39.99 a year, and coin packs | free trial; price not shown on its plans page (App Store lists $7.99 to $13.99 a month) |
| Audio or text | text to read aloud, no audio | audio stories, meditations, sounds and music | audio Sleep Stories, including kids' stories | you read aloud, the app adds sounds and music | text, AI-voiced audiobook or video | books, Read-To-Me books, audiobooks and videos |
| Personalization | child's first name and age, siblings, pets and comfort toys as possible characters | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | child as the hero, with characters and professions you choose | reading recommendations, not the story itself |
| Continuity from one evening to the next | yes, a saga of 3 to 7 episodes | not disclosed | not disclosed | library of tales; sequels not disclosed | not disclosed | library of existing books |
| Where to use it | website and Android app; browser on iPhone | mobile app | mobile app | iOS, Android and web | iOS and Android | iOS, Android and web |
Information collected on November 6, 2026 from each service's official site and US App Store listing. Prices are US prices unless stated.
It comes down to what you want from the evening: a voice that tells the story, or time reading together. Lulio's first episode is free, no credit card needed, so you can see whether reading aloud suits you.
Their name, their worlds, their first story
Nine questions, three minutes. You watch their universe take shape, screen after screen, and their first episode, which is free, is written right away.
Try it freeThe first episode is on us, no card needed.